Meet Trent



Trent Zimmerman is the Member for North Sydney in the Australian Parliament. He was first elected to Parliament in a by-election on 5 December 2015 and re-elected at the 2016 and 2019 general elections.

In the 45th Parliament, Trent served Chair of the House of Representatives Standing Committee on Health, Aged Care and Sport. He was a member of the House Standing Committee on Infrastructure, Cities and Transport and the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade. He is Convenor of the Coalition Friends of Tourism, Co-Convenor of the bipartisan Parliamentary Friends of Amnesty International, the Parliamentary Better Cities Group and the Parliamentary Friends of Hong Kong. He is also Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Armenia and Argentina.

Before entering Parliament, Trent was Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Tourism & Transport Forum (TTF), the peak national industry association for those sectors. His role at TTF included advocacy for Australian tourism and public transport. His career has also included advisor roles with senior federal government ministers. He is a former board member of the International Association for Public Transport (UITP) ANZ Branch and a board member of Epilepsy Action Australia.

Trent has lived on the lower north shore of Sydney for almost 20 years. He served on North Sydney Council between 2004 and 2012 as an elected Councillor. His past community involvement has included board positions on the Crows Nest Community Centre, the Kirribilli-Ex-Services Club and the School Council of North Sydney Demonstration School. He is currently patron of the North Sydney Returned Services League (RSL) sub-branch, Northbridge Golf Club, the Crows Nest Rebels Cricket Club, Cammeray Golf Club, Hunters Hill Rugby Union Club, the Lower North Shore Justices Association and Community Connect Transport.

Trent has been a member of the Liberal Party for over 30 years. He has served as State President of the NSW Liberal Party and is a former state and national president of the Young Liberal Movement of Australia.