Annual School Leaders Lunch

  • June 19, 2018

I’m proud to represent an electorate which is home to some of Sydney’s finest government and non-government schools. I see this in all my interactions with local schools, and it was reaffirmed when earlier this month I hosted my annual lunch for year 12 school leaders.

I was joined by 20 school captains and student leaders from 11 local high schools. The lunch was a small way for me to acknowledge their leadership within their school communities. Under the pressure of year 12 it is a considerable extra responsibility to serve as a school captain or student leader, and they do an incredible job.

The gathering was an opportunity for us to discuss the issues that they feel most strongly about. We talked about matters ranging from climate change to women in STEM. I should also report that a common theme was their hope to see more civility and consensus in Australian politics, a message we could all do well to heed.

I want to thank those who joined me at the lunch, including Oliver Boyle, Matthew Fogarty and Max Marchione from St Aloysius’; Edwin Glendinning and James Meares from Shore; Hannah Sandison and Hannah Pearson from Riverside Girls; Rebecca Chew and Blake Im from Chatswood High; Ben Jones and Aina Ibrahim from Hunters Hill High; Madison Ueland from Monte; Laura Ferguson and Isabella Bath from Loreto Kirribilli; Eliza Jones and Charlotte Pratt from Marist Sisters’; Nick Murray and Wilson McKelvey from St Joseph’s, Shreyaa Sundararaghavan from Willoughby Girls and Nicholas McLachlan from St Pius, Chatswood.

They are a fine group of leaders with big futures ahead of them.